Skip to content

Turning Ecosophic

September 27, 2009
by

Hello.

Leon here, an animation student on exchange from the other side of the world, and very new to semiotic fluxes, machinic phylas and other crazy made-up words.

I must confess that I almost had a panic attack during the first class, but decided fuck it, I’ll do it. It’s an important subject, and like Fox Mulder, I want to believe.

I’m pretty much a jack-of-all-trades, knowing a little bit of animation, 3D, video and web development. I have experience in project management, and I’d say programming is my strongest suit – but I’m sick of it, and trying my hardest to move away from it.

The theme I have for the project is re-usability. I’d like to create a workshop that gets people actively participating in it, as opposed to just viewing something. I want to interest the average person on their level instead of marginalizing them with abstract theories and seemingly far-off scientific facts.

This workshop would be about getting people to join and build/create/construct items out of used or recycled materials that we’d provide. We’d provide the tools, plans and instructions. For example, people could come and build household items for their homes. We could get the kids involved making toys or little things and make it a family outing out of it.

Basically, what I want is to get people to get creative about what they can do with what they already have instead of just going out and buying new stuff. I want to show them that it can be cheaper, more rewarding, better for the world, and above all, easy. After all, that’s what most people want – things to be easy. Not everyone wants to change their lives around to save the world, but we need at least the majority to be doing something.

So that’s the gist of it, with plenty of other details to be worked out. Of course, this is just a rough idea I’m playing around with, and I’m pretty open to any other ideas or projects that anyone else wants to do.

Contact me if you’re vaguely interested in anything I’ve mentioned and we can talk! Thanks for listening.

Email at leon (dot) wee (at) gmail (dot) com

No comments yet

Leave a comment